[Swords & Wizardry] New Monster: the Werebat

 

The Werebat

 

Silence reigned in the dimly lit throne room of the Tower of Obensk. The group of adventurers looked about suspiciously, knowing that these ruins had been abandoned centuries ago and should not have burning lamps illuminating the darkness, even if the light was rather poor. An eerie piping sound slowly filled the room with an unholy trill as a strange looking minstrel strolled slowly into the light playing an ornate flute.

Enough!”, roared a voice from the shadows. An impossibly thin man wearing derelict finery and a broken crown walked into sight. His pale skin and gaunt expression sent a shiver through more than one adventurer.

I am the king today and I am starving!”

Then the werebats were upon them.

 

 

 

Lycanthrope: werebat
These strange lycanthropes are very rare, usually relegated to the realm of legend. Unlike most shapeshifters, werebats are social creatures, traveling in packs of 2-20. Haunting places like ruined towers and castles, werebats sometimes set up strange mockeries of society to lure in victims who see lights in the distance and decide to investigate. If a werebat gets a chance to overwhelm an opponent they will attempt to latch onto their victim and drain blood for additional damage.
Werebat: HD 4; AC 5[14]; Atk By weapon, Bite (1d4 [blood drain 1d3/minute]), Claws (1d6); Move 7 (20 fly); Save 14; CL/XP 5/240; Special (in addition to the attirbutes of all lycanthropes) : Flyers, Sonar: navigate in any kind of darkness, avoiding obstacles and seeing through illusions, Move Silently: -2 to detect when sneaking.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to [Swords & Wizardry] New Monster: the Werebat

  1. Kilgore says:

    Nice! I think I used a werebat as a one-shot monster once upon a time (based on the character Man-Bat from Batman comics) but had forgotten all about it.

  2. Benoist says:

    Very cool “boxed text”/description.
    I always liked the idea of the werebat. When I saw Dracula in that form in Coppola’s movie, I must admit I had a gaming-gasm.

  3. bat says:

    Thank you, gentlemen! I have used these in different games over the years and gave them the S&W treatment to use them in my game. I hope that these monsters wind their wicked way into your games, and if so, please tell me about it.

  4. Kilgore says:

    Hmmm. That one deserted tribal village a couple of miles from the Forbidden City? The one where everyone seemed to up and vanish a season or so ago? But is still “haunted” by spooky lights and noises every now and again? Where people who go to investigate never seem to make it back this way for some reason or another?

    Weird. I wonder what lives there.

    • bat says:

      That is exactly the sort of thing I am trying to accomplish with this blog. I hope referees can pick something out here and run with it.

  5. Timeshadows says:

    Very nice. 🙂

    I am having SSL and Browser related issues and cannot sign in to my blog.
    Do you mind posting something on the most recent post (25 or less) letting folks know that I’m out for a bit?

    I’d appreciate it.
    Thanks.

    • bat says:

      Oh, it was nothing. That is one of the best parts of the oldschool movement; everyone is friendly and sticks together.

Leave a Reply

