[Swords & Wizardry] New Monster: Ether Hounds

Ether Hounds

 

Of course Largas Varl had done something wrong, he usually does. We had barely left the haunt of the ancient wizard Dergess Vree when Varl became panicky and nervous. A couple of times I thought I heard a dog baying outside of the inn, but thought nothing of it, there were dogs everywhere. Then one night Largas Varl let out a hideous scream from the next room and I could hear a dog growling. Then an unnatural voice was saying something that I couldn’t understand and I could hear Varl start his fast-talking routine. Whatever he said appeared to have gotten him off the hook, at least until the next conundrum that he brings upon himself, and by default, the rest of us. With a shudder I pulled the woolen blanket over my head that night, glad that we had separate rooms in the inn.

 

Ether Hounds
Slick, ghostly hounds that run through the Ethereal Plane, the Ether Hounds have the ability to shift to the Material Plane, where they sometimes roam in packs, trailing a particular target across the Planes. Swift and intelligent, ether hounds raised from pups and trained can be used to hunt down creatures such as the dreaded Astral Raiders. Ether Hounds have the ability to shift out of phase and can often smell planar gates and conduits. Their dreadful baying causes many to hesitate to attack.
Ether Hound: HD 5+2; AC 4[15]; Atk Bite (1d8); Move 10; Save 13; CL/XP 6/400; Special: Mournful Howl: Three times per day each ether hound may utter an unearthly howl that unnerves those who would attack it, causing attackers to be -2 to Hit an ether hound. Find Planar Conduit: The sensitive noses of ether hounds allows them to root out planar junctions and gates, with a 90% probability to find an inter-planar connection. Phase Shift: When out of phase, ether hounds may only be attacked by ethereal creatures (as a Phase Spider, a natural enemy of the Ether Hounds). This ability takes one round to take effect.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [Swords & Wizardry] New Monster: Ether Hounds

  1. Lizardfolk says:

    Hehe, I sense a H.P.Lovecraft story in this one…

    And no, that is in no way any kind of criticism!

  2. bat says:

    But you can train ’em!
    The inspiration from this was a bit of Wayne Reynolds art I had laying about of a spectral hound.

    The Astral Raiders are coming, I just need to work around a couple of things and make them a variant race-class as well.

  3. Lovecraft? I’d have to say there’s more of a Frank Belknap Long story herein…

    I think I may have use for the Hounds of Tin – er, “Ether Hounds” in my Realm campaign. Thx! 😀

  4. bat says:

    I am glad that you like them, Christopher.
    So then I had to go back and reread that story and find the wikipedia entry.
    Some things that stick to my brain after twenty years are spooky.
    I was just trying to find a smooth way to introduce my version of the githyanki (astral raiders).

    Strange that nobody mentioned Leiber’s The Howling Tower, which was my literary inspiration.

  5. Lizardfolk says:

    I was more thinking of Lovecraft’s ‘The Hound’, Tindalos certainly are an obvious pick too, but the style of the write-up made me think back to The Hound, probably because I read it more recently.

Leave a Reply

