[New Monster] The Wayward Knights of Wrekkle

The Wayward Knights of Wrekkle

 

“Those fellows down yonder look confused,” Koram said, indicating a group of knights, all of which were wearing different styles of plate armor.

“Fellows? Yonder?” Chalk said. “What has gotten into you?”

“Oh, that is from a magic book I read to teach me more words,” the fighter replied.

“Great,” Chalk sighed as he looked towards the band of knights.

“I don’t see how this can be good,” Valance quipped, idly playing with a horrific spider.

“They look quite harmless,” Nysser joined in.

“Why don’t you go talk to them and see what they are doing?” suggested the priest of the Spider God.

The elf shrugged and strolled slowly towards the plate-armored knights.

Moments later one of the knights yelled happily and they all rushed off together in the same direction, leaving Nysser sitting in the dust. The others walked over to see what had happened.

“What did they want?” Koram asked.

“I don’t recall. Where are we?” replied the elf.

“Superb,” growled Chalk.

“Hey, at least it is just him and not the rest of us,” Valance said.

The Wayward Knights of Wrekkle

No. Enc.: 1d10

Alignment: Mostly Neutral

Movement: 90′ (30′)

Armor Class: 3 (usually in plate armor, but variable)

Hit Dice: 2+2

Attacks: 1

Damage: 1d8 (weapon)

Save: F6

Morale: 10

Hoard Class: VII

X.P.: 125

A strange sight indeed are the Wayward Knights of Wrekkle. When encountered these strange knights are often dressed in plate armor and carrying swords or great axes (or any weapon, really). While most are human, some appear to be elves, dwarfs and even a goblin has been seen amongst their number. Some speculate that the Wayward Knights of Wrekkle are under some sort of curse (which seems fairly obvious) because every time anyone comes within twenty feet of them the curse passes on for a span of time. This means that anytime anyone comes within twenty feet of the gaggle of knights he or she must make a saving throw versus spells at -1 (-2 if in combat with the Wayward Knights). Those who fail their save have for a time (1d6+4 turns) taken on this curse, leaving the Wayward Knights clear-minded for a short time.

Anyone who fails a save suffers from Befuddlement (unsure of where they are and confused about their surroundings, even if shown a map) and Misdirection (as per the illusionist spell) for the 1d6+4 turns they are affected by the curse.

And to really add to the confusion, nobody has ever heard of Wrekkle or knows where it might be located on a map.

This entry was posted in Monsters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to [New Monster] The Wayward Knights of Wrekkle

  1. What a cool and quirky monster. very old school, very Monte Python in a way.

    Frankly my good bat I have no idea how the heck you come up with all that. I am a a fairly creative guy but I couldn’t touch that level of creative effort.

  2. bat says:

    Thank you very much for the comment, it is very appreciated. The main idea is: “So these guys want to get to ‘x’, but they are under a curse. If you get near them, they will spin you around and get a little closer to ‘x’ until they are confused again.”

    I am driven to keep posting and contributing, that is all that keeps me doing this. I know that not all of my posts are winners and sometimes I don’t get my ideas across, or I do and they make more sense to me than to others, but I check my hits and see that people are reading and it gives me the motivation to keep going. That and my mind races constantly, I sometimes jot down two or three ideas on a piece of paper throughout the day. I do not believe in writer’s block.

  3. Kerri Rojas says:

    I like systems that support play but dont interfere with it when theyre not needed. I like systems that give GMs guidelines for running a game but dont bog them down with tons of rules and exceptions that they have to learn or that tie their hands. .Since I bought my first d30s with the Armorys book of d30 tables several decades ago when they first came out back when they were numbered 0 to 9 three times – none of this fancy 1 to 30 business! I figure I can claim membership in this Order!…..

  4. 1d30 says:

    I tried to find Wrekkle once, and all I got was this lousy t-shirt. I think. It might not have been from Wrekkle. Wait, where am I again? Hey you, with the hook-fauchard. You look like you know what’s going on! 😛

    Oh man! The knights should all be carrying weird polearms, all different. (Yes I know they should have lances and maces and swords). During conversation one of them says something like “hey, watch what you’re doing with that bardiche” and the other says, “this isn’t a bardiche, it’s a lucerne hammer!” Another one steps in and says, “that’s no lucern hammer, it’s clearly a bohemian ear-spoon” etc.

    I am totaly using this in my game. Now I just need to figure out how … they’re kind of on the frontier away from everything and everyone knightly …

    • bat says:

      Yes, I was hesitant to actually make them a monster and not an encounter, but they could be dangerous when they stop arguing or think that they can get their hands on a map (although a map will always appear confusing in their hands).

Leave a Reply

